Caviar

Caviar In the tradition of Cod and Olives a fascinating journey into the hidden history culture and commerce of caviar Once merely a substitute for meat during religious fasts today caviar is an icon of l

  • Title: Caviar
  • Author: Inga Saffron
  • ISBN: 9780767911191
  • Page: 378
  • Format: ebook
  • In the tradition of Cod and Olives a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar Once merely a substitute for meat during religious fasts, today caviar is an icon of luxury and wealth In Caviar, Inga Saffron tells, for the first time, the story of how the virgin eggs of the prehistoric looking, bottom feeding sturgeon were transformed frIn the tradition of Cod and Olives a fascinating journey into the hidden history, culture, and commerce of caviar.Once merely a substitute for meat during religious fasts, today caviar is an icon of luxury and wealth In Caviar, Inga Saffron tells, for the first time, the story of how the virgin eggs of the prehistoric looking, bottom feeding sturgeon were transformed from a humble peasant food into a czar s delicacy and ultimately a coveted status symbol for a rising middle class She explores how the glistening black eggs became the epitome of culinary extravagance, while taking us on a revealing excursion into the murky world of caviar on the banks of the Volga River and Caspian Sea in Russia, the Elbe in Europe, and the Hudson and Delaware Rivers in the United States At the same time, Saffron describes the complex industry caviar has spawned, illustrating the unfortunate consequences of mass marketing such a rare commodity.The story of caviar has long been one of conflict, crisis, extravagant claims, and colorful characters, such as the Greek sea captain who first discovered the secret method of transporting the perishable delicacy to Europe, the canny German businessmen who encountered a wealth of untapped sturgeon in American waters, the Russian Communists who created a sophisticated cartel to market caviar to an affluent Western clientele, the dirt poor poachers who eked out a living from sturgeon in the aftermath of the Soviet collapse and the caviar Mafia that has risen in their wake, and the committed scientists who sacrificed their careers to keep caviar on our tables Filled with lore and intrigue, Caviar is a captivating work of culinary, natural, and cultural history.From the Hardcover edition.

    • DOWNLOAD BOOK ✓ Caviar - by Inga Saffron
      Inga Saffron

    About Author

    1. Inga Saffron Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the Caviar book, this is one of the most wanted Inga Saffron author readers around the world.

    One thought on “Caviar

    1. Tracing the beginnings of the sturgeon s roe eaten by fishermen and others during religious feasts when meat was not allowed to an icon in luxury and wealth The author covers the journey of how caviar was made through the years, the challenges of transporting barrels of the delicate and easily perishable eggs, and how the demand from the rising middle class resulted in over fishing and poaching Sturgeons were over fished in the Volga, the Caspian, the Delaware and Hudson Rivers and the Elbe befo [...]


    2. A sad story of human greed and mismanagement We ve basically wiped out most species of sturgeon in the rivers of Europe and North America The Caspian Sea fishery hung on through the 20th century, but the fall of the Soviet Union has probably doomed the fish here as well The book is an interesting tale of how caviar came to be a luxury item and how it is caught, made and sold.


    3. Let me start with this I don t like caviar, and I think that sturgeon are particularly unattractive fish there s a reason that so many good Lake Monster stories trace back to this behemoth.That said, this was a completely fascinating book, part foodie fetish and part eco tract Whenever I read a book like this, I end up completely bowled over by how much I just don t know never thought of Did you know that caviar was once considered poor folks food It s true the upper crust took the flesh of the [...]


    4. I loved this book, however, it is very much in my field so I would It gives an excellent account of the natural history of sturgeons and the history of caviar as a commodity the involvement of the Russian mafia in the trade, the effects of the trade on the species, efforts to conserve sturgeon in the wild by international NGOs and CITES and the undermining of these efforts in many cases by politicking and discord within between these organisations, an all too common and sad story still today Sin [...]


    5. I m a vegetarian un foodie and the idea of harvesting and eating caviar is nauseating to me, which made it a little hard to get through some sections of this book The social and political history aspects of the story are fascinating, though it s always interesting to find out how much backstory there is to foods.


    6. An interesting history of caviar and the taste for the delicacy that has devastated sturgeon fisheries in the Caspian and Black Seas in particular and across the world generally The descriptions of the sturgeon species affected are very eye opening.


    7. An amazing story of survival barely for a culinary delicacy that I ve had only a handful of times Sometimes I couldn t put this book down other days I was overwhelmed with the detail and history of this sad story Sturgeon live in a complex and dangerous world I may never eat caviar again.


    8. Once I got into this book, it was really interesting A little bit hard to get into, but once I got through the first 50 pages I had a hard time putting it down.


    9. This is an examination of the industry related to caviar fish eggs as a food Starts with its discovery and transitions to its production The author also theorizes about the future of caviar.






    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *